18 individuals have filed to run for Leitchfield City Council this year.

Incumbents Raymond “Tooty” Cottrell, Billy Dallas, Margie Decker, and Clayton Miller have all filed for re-election; while the other two current councilmembers, Harold Miller and Kelly Stevenson, have opted not to seek re-election, leaving two open seats on the council in 2021.

Challenging the incumbents are, in alphabetical order by last name, Joanne Deweese, David Duff, Alan Edwards, Charlie Elmore, Jessica Embry, Angela Gibson, Terri Haycraft, Allen Keown, Jeremy Lowe, Elizabeth Moutardier, Sheila Puckett, Carl “Moon” Smith, Glendol Smith, and Stacey Kinkade Whitley.

Because there are more than 13 candidates, a primary election will be held on May 19 to narrow the field down to the top 12 candidates who will then go on to be placed on the general election ballot in November. The top six vote-getters of the general election will comprise the Leitchfield City Council starting in January of next year.

Leitchfield City Councilmembers serve on two-year terms.

Also on the primary election ballot will be Darrick L. Austin and Bill Dalton who are vying for the Republican nomination for 4th District Constable.

A special election is being held for this position this year because the office — originally won by Republican Bryan Hammons and later vacated so he could serve as Grayson County Middle School Resource Officer — is currently being filled by appointed Democrat David Strader.

Strader is seeking election to serve a full term in the position and has no opponent for the Democratic nomination, so he will bypass the primary election and face either Austin or Dalton in the November general election.