Last updated: November 25. 2013 1:41PM - 1054 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Judge Jeff S. Taylor of Owensboro has filed for reelection to a second full eight-year term as Judge of the Kentucky Court of Appeals, Second Appellate District, First Division.

Taylor was first elected to this judgeship in November of 2003 in a special election to fill an unexpired term. He was reelected without opposition from July 1, 2010 through June 30, 2012. He is the only Judge from the Second Appellate District to serve as Chief Judge in the Court’s 37 year history.

Taylor was born in Fort Knox, Hardin County, Kentucky, and raised in Daviess County. He attended Daviess County High School and is a graduate of Elizabethtown High School. Taylor holds a Bachelor of Science Degree from Murray State University (1975) and a Master of Public Administration Degree from Memphis State University (1976). He obtained his law degree, with honors, from the University of Louisville in 1982.

Taylor practiced law in Owensboro for over 20 years and was a sole practitioner from 1990 until his election to the Court of Appeals in November of 2003.

Taylor is a member of the Kentucky Judicial Ethics Committee, being only one of three judges chosen statewide to serve on the Committee along with two attorney representatives selected by the Kentucky Bar Association. The Committee regularly reviews the Code of Judicial Conduct and provides advisory opinions to the 283 justices and judges throughout Kentucky regarding judicial acts and conduct. Taylor is also a member of the Judicial Branch Compensation Commission.

Taylor served on the Kentucky Bar Foundation Board of Directors for six years and presently serves on the Board of Directors for the Daviess County Public Schools Foundation. He served on the Murray State University Board of Regents from September 2006 to September 2009.

Taylor is a Past-President of the Kentucky Chapter of the Federal Bar Association and is a Past-President of the Daviess County Bar Association. Taylor is also a Past-President of the Daviess County Public Defender Corporation and the Daviess County Lawyer Referral Service. He is a member of the Kentucky and Daviess County Bar Associations. Taylor is a Life Fellow in the Kentucky Bar Foundation and a member of the Brandeis Honor Society at the University of Louisville. He received a donated legal services recognition award from the Kentucky Bar Association in 1999 and 2000.

Taylor is a member of the Greater Owensboro Chamber of Commerce, a Past-President of the Owensboro Kiwanis Club and was named Kiwanian of the Year in 2005 and 2012. Taylor also serves on the Advisory Board of Trustees for Girls Incorporated. He is a past board member of the Owensboro-Daviess County Committee on Aging. He has been a frequent United Way volunteer and has also been a volunteer for the Salvation Army and Boy Scouts Law Explorers.

There are fourteen judges on the Court of Appeals who are elected from seven appellate court districts. The judges have statewide jurisdiction and sit on panels of three to review and decide cases. The panels travel throughout the state to hear cases. The Second Appellate District consists of fourteen counties, including Grayson County. The other counties are Barren, Breckinridge, Bullitt, Daviess, Hancock, Hardin, Hart, Henderson, LaRue, Meade, Ohio, Union, and Warren.

Taylor is married to the former Betty Keller of Christian County. She has one son, and they have two grandchildren. They are members of Lewis Lane Baptist Church in Owensboro.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Leitchfield Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com