Anderson joins United Way Board

By Matt Lasley - [email protected]

Retired Grayson County Schools Superintendent Barry Anderson was recently announced as one of the newest members of United Way of Central Kentucky’s Board of Directors.

Anderson is one of 20 community leaders from across the region who will serve as volunteer members of the United Way of Central Kentucky (UWCK) Board of Directors for 2016.

Anderson said his journey to UWCK began several years ago when he served on a committee whose goal was to try to raise money for groups that would benefit the Grayson County community.

When he became Superintendent, Anderson began encouraging his employees to give back to UWCK because so much of the money the organization receives comes back to benefit Grayson County, such as through its support of the Grayson County Alliance.

Now that he’s retired, Anderson said he hopes to continue to support his community through his work on the UWCK Board of Directors.

“I’d like to help the community that has given so much to me,” said Anderson, who attended his first Board of Directors meeting in February of this year.

UWCK Board members serve two, three-year terms and provide direction, support, and strategy needed to create more opportunities for Grayson, Breckinridge, LaRue, Meade, and Hardin County families to become self-sufficient.

“We are proud to have a working Board that is engaged in multiple levels of our organization,” said UWCK President & CEO Megan Stith. “Our Board members not only set the long-term vision for our work, but are an example of what it means to ‘LIVE UNITED;’ they volunteer their time on multiple committees, champion United Way in their workplaces, and advocate for others to join our collaborative efforts. Each of these volunteers brings a unique perspective and strategic mindset to our organization, which is vital to our continued service as the region’s leading convener of resources that solve community problems and measurably improve lives.”

In addition to Anderson, the UWCK Board of Directors includes:

Ray Springsteen, President & CEO, Fort Knox Federal Credit Union

Trena Floyd, Business Services Officer, Your Community Bank

Jon Ballard, Elizabethtown Independent Schools

Grant Niebuhr, Altec

Chris Reed, Hardin County Schools

Nancy Tate, UPS

Brandon Fogle, South Central Bank

Trinity Searcy, Karbec

Scott Conway, First Citizens Bank

Kamma Flood, The Cecilian Bank

Kendra Stewart Scott, Lincoln Trail Behavioral Health

Janice Worden, Dow Corning

Andrea Pike-Goff, Meade County Schools

Mary Jo King, Elizabethtown Community & Technical College

Allison Baumgardner, Your Community Bank

Doug Morgan, Akebono

Chris Ordway, The News-Enterprise

Michael Embry, Citizens Union Bank

Rita Williams, RE Williams Inc.

UWCK’s volunteer Board of Directors meets seven times a year to set policy, ensure good governance, review performance of the organization, and identify strategies that will help local families escape the cycle of poverty.

By Matt Lasley

[email protected]

Reach Matt Lasley at 270-259-9622, ext. 2015.

Reach Matt Lasley at 270-259-9622, ext. 2015.

comments powered by Disqus