Bevin elected Kentucky Governor

Seven other state, local offices decided

By Matt Lasley - [email protected]


Republican Matt Bevin was elected Governor of Kentucky this past Tuesday, defeating Democrat Jack Conway and Independent Drew Curtis.

Bevin and his running mate, Jenean Hampton, received 3,246 of the votes (62.86 percent) in Grayson County on Election Day (Tuesday, Nov. 3). Hampton will serve as Lieutenant Governor.

Conway and his running mate, Sannie Overly, received 1,732 votes in Grayson County. Drew Curtis and his running mate, Heather Curtis, received 186.

Write-in Governor candidates Blackii Whyte and Gatewood B. Gatewood received no votes in Grayson County.

In total, Bevin received 511,771 votes, garnering 52.52 percent of Kentuckians’ votes. Conway received a total of 426,944 votes. And Curtis received a total of 35,629 votes.

A number of other state and local offices were determined on Tuesday, as well. The results of those elections—with both Grayson County and statewide votes—are as follows:

*Incumbent Democrat Alison Lundergan Grimes was re-elected Kentucky Secretary of State, defeating Republican Stephen Knipper.

Grimes received 2,102 votes in Grayson County and 493,600 votes overall. Knipper received 2,998 votes in Grayson County and 471,239 votes overall.

*Democrat Andy Beshear was elected Kentucky Attorney General, defeating Republican Whitney Westerfield.

Beshear received 1,999 votes in Grayson County and 479,924 votes overall. Westerfield received 3,064 votes in Grayson County and 477,734 votes overall.

*Republican Mike Harmon defeated incumbent Democrat Adam Edelen to become the new state Auditor of Public Accounts.

Harmon received 3,228 votes in Grayson County and 486,651 votes overall. Edelen received 1,693 votes in Grayson County and 450,316 votes overall.

*Republican Allison Ball defeated Democrat Rick Nelson to become Kentucky State Treasurer.

Ball received 3,610 votes in Grayson County and 572,296 votes overall. Nelson received 1,365 votes in Grayson County and 371,573 votes overall.

*Republican Ryan Quarles defeated Democrat Jean-Marie Lawson Spann to become the new state Commissioner of Agriculture.

Quarles received 3,566 votes in Grayson County and 563,414 votes over all. Lawson Spann received 1,406 votes in Grayson County and 374,402 votes overall.

*L. Brett Abney was re-elected to the Grayson County Board of Education, representing the fifth educational district.

*The position of Grayson County Surveyor, which was write-in only due to no candidates’ filing for election, received no votes, so it will go unfilled.

The 2015 General Election saw Grayson County voter turnout surpass the state percentage, as 34.3 percent of registered Grayson County voters cast their ballots, while the state saw an overall voter turnout of 30.68 percent.

Approximately 5,225 out of Grayson County’s 17,933 registered voters cast ballots in this week’s General Election. There were also 31 mail-in absentee ballots and 138 walk-in absentee ballots submitted, which, Grayson County Clerk Sherry Weedman said, were about average for a state race.

Out of Kentucky’s 3,201,852 registered voters, 982,259 cast ballots on Tuesday.

Weedman said she expected between 18 to 20 percent of registered Grayson County voters would cast their ballots, so she was pleased that the actual turnout was nearly double her prediction.

“I was really surprised at the turnout,” Weedman said. “It was a good day.”

Weedman said that whether one person or 100 people turn out to vote, elections cost Grayson County the same amount of money, which is currently about $18,000 per election for a total of $36,000 per year.

Weedman wished to thank and commend her office staff and county board of elections for a smooth Election Day.

“My staff, as always…did excellent work last night, and I appreciate them,” Weedman said on Wednesday morning. “I appreciate the girls and the county board of elections.”

But their work is not done. With the 2015 election cycle completed, preparations for the 2016 election cycle are set to begin.

“Now we’re getting ready for the May [primary] election,” Weedman said.

Seven other state, local offices decided

By Matt Lasley

[email protected]

Reach Matt Lasley at 270-259-9622, ext. 2015.

Reach Matt Lasley at 270-259-9622, ext. 2015.

comments powered by Disqus