General Election next Tuesday

By Matt Lasley - [email protected]

The 2015 General Election will be held next Tuesday, Nov. 3 from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.

According to Grayson County Clerk Sherry Weedman, the machine for absentee voting will be available in her office, located in the Public Square courthouse, until 4:30 p.m. on Monday, Nov. 2.

Weedman also wished to remind voters that the voting precinct for Caneyville and Spring Lick has been moved from Caneyville Elementary School to the old Caneyville High School in the Home Economics room.

Grayson Countians’ official election ballot will appear as follows:

Straight Party

Republican Party

Democratic Party

Governor and Lieutenant Governor

Matt Bevin and Jenean Hampton (Republican)

Jack Conway and Sannie Overly (Democrat)

Drew Curtis and Heather Curtis (Independent)

Write-In (Note: There will be two official write-in candidates for the office of Governor. Voters must request the information regarding the write-in candidates from their precinct workers at the time they vote.)

Secretary of State

Stephen L. Knipper (Republican)

Alison Lundergan Grimes (Democrat)


Attorney General

Whitney H. Westerfield (Republican)

Andy Beshear (Democrat)


Auditor of Public Accounts

Mike Harmon (Republican)

Adam H. Edelen (Democrat)


State Treasurer

Allison Ball (Republican)

Rick Nelson (Democrat)


Commissioner of Agriculture

Ryan F. Quarles (Republican)

Jean-Marie Lawson Spann (Democrat)


County Surveyor (Unexpired Term)


The above offices will appear on every registered voter’s ballot. Individuals in the precincts East Leitchfield, East “A” Leitchfield, North Leitchfield, and Rock Creek will have the option of voting for the 5th Educational District Grayson County Board of Education member, as well. That position will appear as follows:

Nonpartisan “School Candidates”

Member Board of Education

5th Educational District (Unexpired Term)

L. Brett Abney


Anyone with questions regarding the election is encouraged to call Weedman’s office at 270-259-3201.

“Everybody go vote,” said Weedman.

By Matt Lasley

[email protected]

Reach Matt Lasley at 270-259-9622, ext. 2015.

Reach Matt Lasley at 270-259-9622, ext. 2015.

comments powered by Disqus