DECA “Makes it Count” at State Competition


March 16, 2014

In keeping with this year’s national theme, GCHS DECA brought home the hardware from State competition as 40 students were named finalists in their categories. Of those, 30 qualified for nationals. The chapter was awarded as the third largest in the state, and recognized for participating in DECA’s national membership campaign.

Kenadie Minton was selected KY DECA Member of the Year. Minton, Lauren Allen and Jackson Henderson were named as DECA Emerging Leaders, a national award. Ashton Filburn, was named outstanding State Officer for the year, and elected to serve as KY DECA president for the 2014-15 school year.

Advisor Cynthia Smith was recognized for those Grayson County finalists who made the national stage last year, and also named DECA Advisor of the Year. And GCHS principal Todd Johnston was honored as DECA Administrator of the Year.

First place finishes for team and individual events include: Hannah Ashley, Jessica Hughes, Marketing Communications; Ashton Filburn, Creative Marketing Research; Danielle Grapes, Gracie Hayse, Kevin Wilson, Financial Literacy Project; Katie Hayes, Mady Wieland, Public Relations Project; Amos Goodman, Principles of Marketing; Kenadie Minton, Entrepreneurship Participating; Lauren Risinger, International Business Plan.

Second Place finishes included Austin Clemons, Automotive; Noah Cummings, Principles of Business Administration; Blake Davis, Kristen Davis, Business Operations Research; Heather Easley, Human Resources; Logan Hart, Alexis Schmidt, Cody Swift, Community Service Project; Lauren Henderson, Sarah Pierce, Entrepreneurship Promotion Plan; Mallory Thomas; Business Operations Research

Third Place finishes: Lauren Allen, Wyatt Jaggers, Community Service Project; Alisha Brown, Madi Thomas, Entrepreneurship Innovation Project; James Childress, Retail Merchandising; Rachael Downs, Public Relations Project; Kelsey Embry, Entrepreneurship Innovation Project; Jackson Henderson, Human Resources. Eric Liptak placed fourth in Accounting. Other finalists included: Laska Anderson, Tristan Deering, Business Law & Ethics; Ashley Clemons, Shelbi Pendergest, Marketing Communications; Zach Downs, Business Finance; Rebecca Higdon, Kristen Tilford, Buying and Merchandising; Zach Lashley, Food Marketing, and Ashton Lindsey, Marketing Management.

Nationals will be held May 2-7 in Atlanta.